Book Reviews

Dr. Seuss

I read a lot. Names you know (Stephen King, J.K. Rowling, Rick Riordan, Jane Austen) and Indie authors you’ve never heard of. This page is dedicated to the unknowns only.


June 14, 2017

Playing with Fire by Cris and Clare Meyers

Read the review here.

Playing with Fire


June 8, 2017

Tompkin’s School for the Extraordinarily Talented by Tabi Slick

Read the review here.

Tompkin's School


June 5, 2017

Bittersweet by Aliya DalRae

Read the review here.

Bittersweet


June 3, 2017

Guardian Core by Scarlett Van Dijk

Read the review here.

Guardian Core


May 30, 2017

An Enlightening Quiche by Eva Pasco

Read the review here.

An Enlightening Quiche


May 3, 2017

Birth: The Exquisite Sound of One Hand Falling Off a Turnip Truck (Chakra Kong Book 1) by S.T. Gulik

Read the review here.

Turnip Truck


May 2, 2017

Color of Evil by S.K. Wee

Read the review here.

color of evil.jpg


April 21, 2017

Sky Stone by Scarlett Van Dijk

Read the review here.

Sky Stone


April 12, 2017

Fractured by Jessica Jesinghaus

Read the review here.

Fractured


March 22, 2017

Absence of Color by SK Wee

Read the review here.

absence of color


March 13, 2017

Waiting by R.M. Gauthier

Read the review here.

Waiting


March 10, 2017

Notes of a Naïve Traveler by Jennifer Alderson

Read the review here.

Notes of a Naive Traveler.jpg


March 8, 2017

Miriamne the Magdala (Yeshua and Miri #1) by J.B. Richards

Read the review here.

Miriamne the Magdala.jpg


March 7, 2017

The Last Summer Girl by S.C. York

Read the review here.

The Last Summer Girl.jpg


March 5, 2017

Nova by Joanne Van Leerdam

Read the review here.

Nova.jpg


February 27, 2017

A Christmas Miracle in July by R.M. Gauthier

Read the review here.

A Christmas Miracle in July.jpg


February 25, 2017

Mirror, Mirror by Jessica Jesinghaus

Read the review here.

Mirror Mirror.jpg


February 7, 2017

The Perimeter by Quintin Lake (Blog review – https://theperimeter.uk/)

Read the review here.

The Perimeter.JPG


February 1, 2017

Control by R.M. Gauthier

Read the review here.

Contol.jpg


January 30, 2017

Longing by R.M. Gauthier

Read the review here.

Longing by R.M. Gauthier.jpg


January 27, 2017

Shiva XIV by Lyra Shanti

Read the review here.

Shiva XIV by Lyra Shanti.jpg


January 24, 2017

Bob’s Short Story Hour (Podcast) by Robert Daun

www.bobsshortstoryhour.com

Read the review here.

BSSH.jpg


January 17, 2017

Sweet Vengeance by Aliya DalRae

Read the review here.

Sweet Vengeance.jpg


January 12, 2017

The Stable House by Laura Smith

Read the review here.

The Stable House.jpg


January 8, 2017

Liefdom: A Tale from Perilisc by Jesse Teller

Read the review here.

Liefdom .jpg


December 20, 2016

The Veiled Soul by Abbie Chandler

Read the review here.

The Veiled Soul.jpg


December 12, 2016

Fire of Stars and Dragons (Stars and Souls Book 1) by Melissa Petreshock

Read the review here.

Fire of Stars and Dragons.jpg


December 7, 2016

Ornaments of Love by Sharlin Craig

ornaments-of-love

This is an adorable, holiday book for children beautifully illustrated by Helen Monwuba. The story tells a common tale of adults too busy with what they deem as important while temporarily neglecting the spirit of Christmas. Ayana’s love of tradition and her descriptions of the ornaments dear to her heart made my eyes water. Really, no joke. We all have those ornaments…those that stir emotions even in people who claim they have none (i.e. – me).

Then it happens. Rosie happens. Rosie the dog knocks down the tree. Little does Rosie know, it’s the best “bad dog” finger wag of the year.

Rosie.jpg

Ayana and her parents scramble to repair the ornaments, resurrect the tree and in the process are enlighten by their good fortune.

I dare anyone to dislike this book. It is simple, sincere and full of heart. The illustrations are beautifully drawn masterpieces that tell the story without words. A great taste of Christmas coated sweetness.


December 6, 2016

Conquest: Rise of the Fifth Horseman: A Cohesive SciFan™ Adventure by Richard M. Mulder

Rise of the Fifth Horseman.jpg

An intricate mix of creativity written to defend its title of Science Fiction Fantasy, this wild ride is a medley difficult to describe. It’s a bit Game of Thrones as you enter the world of Zion and witness, much to my approval, dragons. You could smack a dragon in any chapter of any genre and bang, it’s done. Technically speaking, the book is…detailed, in a good way. The author shows his geek constructing a realm of computer based technology that would rival the Arrow’s Felicity Smoak. As the chapters flow, so does the religious references and innuendos, an interesting mix of science and divinity. Mulder (this reference seems appropriate) and Scully fans will appreciate the government conspiracy aspect and to top it all off, it all starts with a wedding proposal. Whew…

The characters in the first installment of the series are an interesting bunch. Some are killed off quickly but the main three are likeable, well not Timur…he just sucks. Allan and Lily have so much potential and I hope to see their relationship evolve in the next book. Timur is godawful (pun intended). You will detest him and you should. Zion itself is worthy of the title “character” as it develops in the readers mind in a pleasant “getting to know you” way. Note the handy map of Zion in the beginning of the book, in case you get lost.

In conclusion, this book is truly a Science Fiction Fantasy as described by the author and its audience should be mindful to that. Read in that mindset to appreciate its value. Kudos to Richard Mulder for engineering such a meticulous (and likely painstaking) venture into a complex genre.


December 4, 2016

The Wisdom (Book #2) by Vrinda Pendred

The Wisdom #2.jpg

The second book of The Wisdom series character hops through the magical word created by Vrinda Pendred. Your mind stirs with possibilities and questions reality simultaneously. The mysteries of the first book are revealed and the characters come to life. Unlike the first book that focused on the story and the character’s abilities, this installment brings the heart. The characters are exposed. Their emotions carefully converted into words on a page, injecting them with life.

The story itself is also exposed. Questions are answered and the missing puzzle pieces are joined. The two books merge into a cohesion that is both enjoyable and engaging. Cheers to Vrinda Pendred for penning another thought-provoking story.


November 22, 2016

Nepal by Daniel Kay (Blog review – thisisyouth.org)

Nepal.png

Today I opted to spend my boring 9-5 job reading Nepal from the beginning and it is now 2:51pm and my eyes are burning but it was worth it. I am breathless. I followed Daniel through 44 posts of what I describe as – “A truly Millennial tragedy” (one of his many tweet worthy quotes throughout the series). As a traveler myself, I related to many of the dilemmas he faced but unlike other travel blogs, he mixes in life and the shit that comes with living. A skilled writer (and a bit crazy-the good kind) Daniel Kay has much wisdom and talent to offer and I look forward to his next post with held breath.


November 20, 2016

Rangers (Sam and Sam #1) by Chloe Gardner

Rangers.jpg

I purchased this book after visiting the author’s booth at a virtual book fair. I read it in four days. It’s a fast, teasing ride, character driven and funny. The Sam and Sam concept is creative and unique. Samantha is a mystery in need of solving and Sam’s true powers are yet to be revealed. Jason’s cocky attitude fools no one as hints of his loyal, loving nature accidently slip away from him making him annoying and likable at the same time. The sex filled banter between Jason and Samantha is strategically placed throughout the story giving the reader a quick chuckle before they are off slaying demons again. The sexual tension flows from chapter to chapter and the reader is constantly guessing who will get the girl. Next stop: Shaman (Sam and Sam #2).


October 14, 2016

To Trust a Wolf (Unnatural Alliances #1) by Danielle Hardgrave

To Trust a Wolf.jpg

Brisk and brief, To Trust a Wolf is perfect for a quick flight or an afternoon at the beach. The setting of the story, a small, financially strapped museum in Maine, was a refreshing change for the paranormal genre. My favorite character was Benji. His hit and run, encounter with Helen was intriguing. His true intentions left hovering over the dance floor, unattended. Helen’s introduction to the shifter/vamp universe was swift and blinding as was her attraction to Rune. The book moves at warp speed, shifting Helen’s future before she can even catalog her thoughts. The ending leaves the mind unsettled, seething with speculation and suspicion and waiting on book two.


October 4, 2016

They Who from the Heavens Came (The Wisdom #1) by Vrinda Pendred

They Who from the Heavens Came.jpg

Enter into the soul of Itzy Loveguard with a receptive mind and let the adventure begin. As Itzy and her troop of gifted friends search for their purpose, they encounter unexpected twists and turns. Often their gifts get the better of them and often Itzy’s heart gets the better of her. In the end, Itzy realizes where her heart truly belongs and she follows it blindly.

I found the book to be engaging and thought-provoking. The world created by Vrinda Pendred is an intriguing swirl of majestic images encouraging the mind to wander, inviting it to envision the conclusion. There are so many ways to interpret this book; so many personal experiences that the reader can inject or reject, so many roads the words can travel.

I just adored the character of Seth. Visually, he commands attention and his personality is described to perfection, making him jump out of your iPad and into your living room. I also enjoyed the London setting which is a refreshing change.

Reading The Wisdom was excellent time spent and I look forward to reading the 2nd installment.


September 13, 2016

Shifter Planet by D.B. Reynolds

Shifter Planet.jpg

I finished this book in 2 days, neglecting all my obligations and barely managing to feed my family. Where some SFR novels swirl in a cluster of weird with a relationship in the background, Shifter Planet is the perfect balance of romance and oddity. The characters develop before your eyes and leave you feeling that you know them personally. Anticipating their next move…their next smart-ass exchange…their next foe. The author’s description of the planet Harp drops you in the thick of the beauty and dangers that live there. Cheers to D.B. Reynolds and thanks for the 2 day, entertaining binge!